I'm a race car driver!!!!!

General Discussion about the Datsun PL510
icehouse

I'm a race car driver!!!!!

Post by icehouse »

Finally after all these years of having and tinkering on 510's! Turns out they started auto crossing at a track about 25 min from my house. Even though my Tan 510 (Hey) is still miles away from having the proper setup I decided to go. Turns out it was more fun that I could have even imagined!!! So I went again, which was this last saturday. It was a rainy day, who would have thought but I liked racing in the rain even better. It kinda evens the competition plus lots of guys go home early or don't even race. There was 27 people signed up to race by the time the racing started we were down to 17 dudes. Which meant by the end I had 30 laps in :) Second highest out of anyone :)

I would like some input on suspension settings for a close coarse, mainly second gear. What I have now and I don't like it. I did get 24th out of 47 cars the first time and 6th out of 17 this last time. Most of the 17 cars this time were Subi's. it's fun beating an STI in the rain haha Seems like they would have the advantage.

Okay settings. Most were off a car I bought for parts. An unfinished project.

Front

Futofab 1 1/8th inch sway bar
Tokico 5 way adjustable inserts with 185 pound springs,
T3 Camber plates
T3 TC rods

I hate the entire front setup. Sounds like my car is falling apart, yes our track is rough and since the T3 TC rods hit the sway bar I had to add a bump stop, which of coarse I just end up bouncing off it the entire time. I'm thinking about making a sway bar like Byron has that goes under the TC rod and control arm.

Rear

Byron's brackets of coarse! Biggest night and day item and the only one I have no complaints about. It really makes a difference I think when the person engineering/designing it actually installs the product and enjoys the car they are made for.