hooking up tach on SR20det?

New posts disabled. Archived technical discussion about the Datsun PL510
User avatar
johnbureezu
Posts: 638
Joined: 07 Jun 2007 11:22
Location: Sunny Diego
Contact:

hooking up tach on SR20det?

Postby johnbureezu » 19 Nov 2008 12:11

Finally getting around to installing an autometer tach and I have the module to make make it work with the sr individual coils. My question is; Do you have to tap into each coil's power wire like it says in the autometer instructions or is can I just tap into the tach signal wire(single wire)? I 'd really hate to splice into each coil wire.
thanks
http://easytunegarage.blogspot.com/

User avatar
icehouse
Posts: 3117
Joined: 17 Jul 2005 17:06
Location: Everett Wa

Re: hooking up tach on SR20det?

Postby icehouse » 19 Nov 2008 12:56

I hooked my aftermarket tach to the output on the ECU, worked fine, I forget what brand tach I had though.
"People don't like it when shit doesn't match their rule of thumb." Sam

User avatar
sdterrible1
Posts: 354
Joined: 06 Jul 2007 23:38
Location: San Diego!

Re: hooking up tach on SR20det?

Postby sdterrible1 » 19 Nov 2008 13:34

id like to know this also?
Drive a Datsun

User avatar
johnbureezu
Posts: 638
Joined: 07 Jun 2007 11:22
Location: Sunny Diego
Contact:

Re: hooking up tach on SR20det?

Postby johnbureezu » 19 Nov 2008 14:20

icehouse wrote:I hooked my aftermarket tach to the output on the ECU, worked fine, I forget what brand tach I had though.

Really? hrmm. I'm gonna have to check that out. Maybe the autometer tachs are different.
This is what I have.
http://autometer.com/cat_accessoriesdetail.aspx?vid=99
http://easytunegarage.blogspot.com/

User avatar
hang_510
Supporter
Posts: 5342
Joined: 14 Mar 2005 16:19
Location: so. cal

Re: hooking up tach on SR20det?

Postby hang_510 » 19 Nov 2008 16:01

that thing got a hemi?
i think the directions are for a hemi only???

icehouse wrote:I hooked my aftermarket tach to the output on the ECU, worked fine, I forget what brand tach I had though.

would be "Connecting to an Individual Coil Per Plug Ignition System" - should be the hook up you need.

or "Connecting to a Coil Pack"
byron wrote:I'd be all over that like a fat kid on a smartie.

okayfine wrote:Sense doesn't always have everything to do with it, and I speak from experience.

User avatar
johnbureezu
Posts: 638
Joined: 07 Jun 2007 11:22
Location: Sunny Diego
Contact:

Re: hooking up tach on SR20det?

Postby johnbureezu » 19 Nov 2008 16:48

Yo hang. i have the instructions and it says to splice into each coil power. Thats what I'm trying to avoid doing. There has to be a simpler way to do it. Maybe I'll try the Ice technique when I get home tonight..
http://easytunegarage.blogspot.com/

User avatar
icehouse
Posts: 3117
Joined: 17 Jul 2005 17:06
Location: Everett Wa

Re: hooking up tach on SR20det?

Postby icehouse » 19 Nov 2008 19:02

Yeah you don't want to splice into each coil, that would back feed the power and cause a big mess. Unless you wire in some diodes, that work. I would try it to the tach out put for fun :D Hey the worst that could happen is it wouldn't work.
"People don't like it when shit doesn't match their rule of thumb." Sam

User avatar
johnbureezu
Posts: 638
Joined: 07 Jun 2007 11:22
Location: Sunny Diego
Contact:

Re: hooking up tach on SR20det?

Postby johnbureezu » 19 Nov 2008 23:06

icehouse wrote: I would try it to the tach out put for fun :D Hey the worst that could happen is it wouldn't work.


Got that right... I got lazy so I'll prolly try it tomorrow or priday.
http://easytunegarage.blogspot.com/

User avatar
RWD_NissanMan
Supporter
Posts: 861
Joined: 01 Oct 2003 14:13
Location: Poncitlan, JAL, Mexico

Re: hooking up tach on SR20det?

Postby RWD_NissanMan » 20 Nov 2008 06:25

I just used the 180SX/Silvia tach and stuck it in the dash to replace the old 510 one. Wired it directly to the tach out line on the ECU. This seemed to me to be easier - mind you I had a front clip to work with which maybe you don't.
1969 Datsun 510 4-door (donor shell for below)
1973 Datsun 510 SR20DET (sort of broken right now)
1998 Suzuki Escudo (JDM Sidekick Sport) 2.0TD 4x4 (daily driver)
2006 Ford Explorer 4.6 V8 3V 4x2 (wife's ride)
2005 & 2006 Targa Newfoundland Entrant

User avatar
S15DET
Supporter
Posts: 2561
Joined: 03 Dec 2004 17:02
Location: Waxhaw, NC

Re: hooking up tach on SR20det?

Postby S15DET » 20 Nov 2008 11:49

I wired my aftermarket tach (Classic Instruments) to the tach output wire from the ECU and it worked fine.

User avatar
johnbureezu
Posts: 638
Joined: 07 Jun 2007 11:22
Location: Sunny Diego
Contact:

Re: hooking up tach on SR20det?

Postby johnbureezu » 23 Nov 2008 02:21

Awww shiet! I just hooked the tach up and all I had to do was hook it up to the tach output(yellow w/ red stripe) and boom good to go. Thats what I get for getting my info on zilvia.net before asking over here. Now I have a $75 piece of shit module laying around. :oops:
http://easytunegarage.blogspot.com/

User avatar
hang_510
Supporter
Posts: 5342
Joined: 14 Mar 2005 16:19
Location: so. cal

Re: hooking up tach on SR20det?

Postby hang_510 » 24 Nov 2008 10:17

johnbureezu wrote: Now I have a $75 piece of shit module laying around. :oops:

dont ya love electronics??? post it for sale on zilvia.net :twisted:

the return policy at the electronic shop i used to work at..."if the part you bought and installed wasnt the problem, you now have a spare- NO returns."



8) that it was easy.
byron wrote:I'd be all over that like a fat kid on a smartie.

okayfine wrote:Sense doesn't always have everything to do with it, and I speak from experience.

Braden620
Posts: 70
Joined: 30 Sep 2010 07:28

Re: hooking up tach on SR20det?

Postby Braden620 » 03 Aug 2011 19:08

what type of module do you have? is it the adapter that allows the use of the factory tach?

User avatar
johnbureezu
Posts: 638
Joined: 07 Jun 2007 11:22
Location: Sunny Diego
Contact:

Re: hooking up tach on SR20det?

Postby johnbureezu » 04 Aug 2011 00:11

I think it was a mustang type module. not sure if it'll work for a stock tach though.
http://easytunegarage.blogspot.com/


Return to “Technical - Archive”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest