weber 32/36 help

fo0manchu

weber 32/36 help

Post by fo0manchu »

Okay, so this is not about my datsun but I also have a BMW 2002 that I am working on as my daily driver. I just installed the weber. However, when I go to start it, its like someone just mashed on the throttle. So I quickly turn it off so I don't blow my motor. I checked the throttle plates and those are both closed. Idle air/fuel adjustment screw is completely screwed in(I assumed that the motor should have just bogged out due to being lean). My idle adjustment screw for the throttle is also all the way out. This carb used to be on a 2.0 motor and is now on a 1.8. Any thoughts on why this is happening? Im not a pro with carbs so any help would be great. This carb did run fine on the previous motor that it was on and maintained a healthy idle.
510Martinez

Re: weber 32/36 help

Post by 510Martinez »

I can't see it running so fast with the throttle plates closed... However, a vaccum leak can raise the idle speed of an engine a good bit - see it in bikes a lot.
Byron510

Post by Byron510 »

I would second the vacuum leak idea. This can send the idle into the stratosphere in short order if the carb is tuned a slight bit rich. Don't worry about the mixtures, look for a vacuum leak either between the carb and the manifold, or between the manifold and the head. It's likely between the carb base and manifold, as a leak at the manifold/head area would only affect one cylinder and not likely get this response.
My thoughts with so little to go on, hope it helps.
Byron
Love people and use things,
because the opposite never works.
James

Post by James »

You might also try retarding the timing a bit, if you are not sure that it is right. I had an L-18 that I was starting up after it had sat for a long time (and I had rebuilt the carb etc.), and I couldn't get the idle to slow down (idle speed screw all the way out) until the timing was right (it was way advanced).