Spriso's SR20DET Bluebird Coupe Project

Only the most active and interesting projects from our members. Projects must be approved to be in this forum
spriso

Spriso's SR20DET Bluebird Coupe Project

Post by spriso »

My name is Michael Spreadbury, and I own a small automotive restoration business called Spriso Motorsports in Corvallis, Oregon. We have dabbled in many different facets in the automotive realm, but our claim to fame the last few years has been building SR20DE(T) powered Datsun Roadsters. Due to professional commitments of my day job, our full-blown customer projects are scaling back, but we are still working on personal projects and providing SR conversion parts for roadster owners.

I am a 510 guy. I have been playing with these cars for over 25 years now, and I have owned mild to wild examples over the years. Over the last 10 years I have been heavily distracted with SR20 powered Datsun Roadsters, and my 510 interest had cut way back, but it is time to brush off the dust and get back to work on a 510 again-- I miss them!

Just over 10 years ago, I imported this 1970 Bluebird Coupe from Nagano, Japan. I had always lusted for a Coupe, and finally my dream had come true. Due to it's high elevation, Nagano is a great place to find vintage cars in Japan and they usually have a little less rust than cars from other regions. This particular car was sitting, waiting for a new owner when I found it. Soon it was running and on a ship bound for Seattle, where it arrived a few weeks later:

Getting the car home and in the driveway, it was time to get it cleaned and inspected to see what kind of car was under all that grime: