Derek's EFI-L18 4 Door MEGATHREAD

Only the most active and interesting projects from our members. Projects must be approved to be in this forum
Derek

Derek's EFI-L18 4 Door MEGATHREAD

Post by Derek »

So I've decided to post a thread in the projects folder. Since I am lazy, and have already written a bunch about the car, I will use edited stuff that I've already posted on another forum. Just though I'd keep you guys updated on my car's progress.

April 2004

Warning: I have no motor building experience. I have installed a motor in a car before and have done other external wrench turning, but this is the first project of this type that I have ever attempted. My lack of knowledge and foresight has been expensive, and if I had the choice, I would do things differently, but so goes life.

Everything up until this point:

I bought my 4-door 1972 Datsun 510 in April 2003 from some dude in Oakland, CA. The car was bought with the intention of making it my competition car for auto-x, track days and solo I/hillclimb. This is the 3rd 510 I’ve owned and I had a pretty clear idea of what I was looking for. I bought a car with nice suspension parts and a hotted up 1600cc L16. The price was right for a rust free car with the suspension goodies in place. I didn’t care so much about the motor at the time, since I was planning a big fancy modern motor swap (SR20DETZOMG!).

When I picked the car up, I noticed it was SLOW. The motor had hardly any low end torque (due to sporty cam, porting on the head and the headers was assuming), the mid range was OK, and then the motor ran out of breath on the top end – the single down draft Weber wasn’t helping. 0-60 was around 15 seconds. SLOW. On the plus side, it handled really well, and it really was rust free, had all the trim, and the dome light even worked!