Brake Master Question

Suspension, including wheel, tire and brake.
James

Brake Master Question

Post by James » 23 Apr 2019 13:55

I thought I would throw this out there and get some feedback.

I have a fairly stock 1972 2 door - running SU's. I would love to run the stock SSS air filter housing -as I have one. I also want to keep the dual reservoir/system master (I have a NOS early single master - but not a fan of the lack of redundancy).

I don't want to cut or dent the housing for clearance (as I've read used to be common practice with our LHD cars).
I haven't done a bunch of measuring yet - but I don't think even grinding the tips off the bleeders will really get the clearance.

My question is - would it be possible to port the opposite side for the bleeder screws and run a flush plug in the existing ports. I don't know a lot about the internals of the Master, but it makes sense to me that it would work. From a machining standpoint how hard would it be to do?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Something I started thinking about a few weeks ago.....
Last edited by James on 24 Apr 2019 22:34, edited 1 time in total.
Finished is better than perfect......

RMS
Supporter

Re: Brake Master Question

Post by RMS » 23 Apr 2019 16:16

you could also run a 90deg bracket like funwithmonkeys
two_68_510s wrote:I guess our donkeys are quicker then your sled dogs!

icehouse

Post by icehouse » 23 Apr 2019 16:46

Doesn't Troy Ermish sell RHD master cylinders for that exact reason?

I had a comment about carbs but why repeat myself :)
"People don't like it when shit doesn't match their rule of thumb." Sam

James

Post by James » 23 Apr 2019 16:51

I will check out Ermish. 90 deg. bracket - don't understand - but will check out that build. I understand the carb thing. But I'm old - and I want my kids to understand what a manual choke is.......

RMS
Supporter

Post by RMS » 23 Apr 2019 19:29

ImageImageImage