1969 Minty 510 Sedan

View and post your 510 project(s)
tristinGrind

1969 Minty 510 Sedan

Post by tristinGrind »

My name is Tristin and although Im not new to building cars, I am new to Datsuns. Ive liked Datsuns for awhile and finally was able to pick one up in good condition for a great price. Its in awesome condition for its age, though its not perfect. There is a bit of surface rust in some areas and the paint if faded in most places, but there is no rot. Rockers are 100% complete, no floorboard holes, no trunk rust. For her age, shes great. I have some plans for her in the future, but the first things that are going to get take care of with be maintenance related and some of the more important aspects.

Current Issues:
No weather sealing on doors
Heater is crap (I live in Washington... its a must)
Stalls on hard accelerating from a stop
Dash lights are half blown
Ignition is loose (twists when you want to start the car)
Front seats are shredded
Rear seat cover needs replaced (foam and springs are perfect)
Carpet is wicked dirty
Stereo is non-op

Future Plans:
Coilovers
Rims
Wilwood BBK
SR Swap (not sure which version yet)
Aussie rear Venetian blind
Aussie sun visor
JDM fender mirrors
Center console
MKI duckbill

Im not going to get crazy with it, but I would like to update the vehicle to current times. Once I get cracking on the maintenance it should be a great DD as Im going to use it when I go back to school in the Summer. Im going to try to keep everything original looking if possible and only change things if I must. Im going to try to keep the original paint color, interior colors, no garish front bumper colors, no ridiculous fender flares. Clean and simple is the way I like it. Anyway, here are the pictures as it currently sits. I just returned from a 3hr drive to pick her up. Enjoy and stay tuned!

Image Image
Last edited by tristinGrind on 06 Feb 2012 17:28, edited 1 time in total.
--Tristin
1969 Mint Green 510 sedan
tristinGrind