Project Camatsun - RUNNING AND DRIVING!

View and post your 510 project(s)
wcrowe

Project Camatsun - RUNNING AND DRIVING!

Post by wcrowe »

I picked up a 72 510 a few months ago and am just about to get the ball rolling on it. It's got an unfinished 3800ii engine in it from the 96-00 Gen camaro/fbd. It came as a California roller that's been sitting on the east coast for 5 years (rust has started... But nothing really bad). Came with koni coilovers on it (brand new), engine and trans, subaru LSD (not hooked up yet), very little interior, and no paint.

Now I'm fully aware that this swap isn't exactly common, this weekend i'll be figuring out how I'm going to route my steering to get around the engine /how much of the oil pan I'll be hacking up.

My background is all over imports. I've had an 80s 300zx (sadly no turbo), 93 del sol si, 91 mr2 turbo, 74 260z, and my DD is an 04 IS300. That said this is my first serious project. I'll be working on it with my Dad (I'm a 21 year old engineering student at Virginia Tech) who built his first car in a junk yard and has always been my go to guy for car help.

Looking foreword to sharing my progress and learning from you guys.
Last edited by wcrowe on 02 Mar 2019 12:02, edited 2 times in total.

Re: New Guy with unique project

Post by 3411 »

post pix

Post by 3411 »

AND WELLCOME
okayfine
Supporter

Post by okayfine »

Hello and welcome to The Realm. If you could put your location in your profile, that'll help us know where you are.

Feel free to post pictures of your car/swap. How unfinished in the V6? Definitely not a common swap, but depending on the version of the engine, it should work out well. Hop-up parts are certainly just a catalog away.
Because when you spend a silly amount of money on a silly, trivial thing that will help you not one jot, you are demonstrating that you have a soul and a heart and that you are the sort of person who has no time for Which? magazine. – Jeremy Clarkson
wcrowe

Post by wcrowe »