'72 Datsun 510

View and post your 510 project(s)
Beatty510

'72 Datsun 510

Post by Beatty510 »

Hi, im new to the forums. always been a huge fan of the 510 and ive finally found one over here on the east coast that wasnt a total rust bucket. its a '72 4 door sedan. the body is in good shape besides a few dents here and there, interior is not too shabby either. i beleive it has the L20 with the dog leg in it, and a subaru lsd. this will be an autocrossing machine but i wouldnt mind slapping tags on it and driving on the street either! Thats really the main reason behind this car, i miss autocrossing and i just dont get that handling and braking from my cobra.

So ive been searching and holding back on getting one of these things for a few years now. In that span of time, i have done my occasional research and reading as much as i can on these cars but im still a novice when it comes to fabrication, and what to do here or there, and swapping parts etc. etc. so i will have questions, i hope they wont be dumb, but im just forewarning that i will need some help and i would appreciate all the help i can get.

on to plans, well...for the engine/drivetrain i will be going with a SOHC VG30. the suspension i actually have on order as i type this, they are '79-83 280zx struts shortened, camber plates, tension control rods, and roll center adjusters. brakes are TBA, cause i dont know yet, does wilwood make a kit that will fit those struts? should i just go with 280 stock brakes?

anyway, here are some shots of the car, still has the stickers from the previous owners autoXing! thanks. -Alex

JakeWard

Post by JakeWard »

Wow that looks like a really good find. Clean interior and exterior.

Here's a brake kit http://www.arizonazcar.com/510brakes.html
DakotaKid

Post by DakotaKid »