Upgrading rear diff

Engine, Transmission and related drivetrain.
vetteguy22

Upgrading rear diff

Post by vetteguy22 »

Hi guys,
I'm new to the Datsun world and am beginning a new project 510 4 door for my wife.
I have an opportunity to purchase a R200 diff from a 240 sx.
Would this be a good upgrade and what extras would I need to look at?
Thanks for any input,
Rob
bertvorgon
Supporter

Re: Upgrading rear diff

Post by bertvorgon »

That is a really big, HEAVY diff, and unless you are going to make some huge torque, I would suggest sticking with the R-180 diff. There are a bunch of us on here making upwards of 260 - 300 Hp to the rear wheels through a R180 with no issues.
"Racing makes heroin addiction look like a vague wish for something salty" - Peter Egan

Keith Law
1973 2 Door Slalom/hill climb/road race / canyon carver /Giant Killer 510
1971 Vintage 13' BOLER trailer
510rob

Post by 510rob »

Regardless of the overkill-ness (which is likely true, unless your wife is Michele Mouton?), the R-200 used in the 240SX is the short-snout type - it won't bolt in without extensive mods. The R-200 used in some of the 280ZX and 300ZX is a long-snout type.

http://www.the510realm.com/viewtopic.php?t=22269
vetteguy22

Post by vetteguy22 »

Thanks for the input guys.
The car will have approx 400 hp at the crank and will be used for auto cross, some road race along with street driving.
Just want to make sure that things are over built instead of breaking things.
Sounds like a diff from a 280 or 300zx is a better idea.
What years, etc. should I be looking for?
Did they make a posi unit?
Should I look for one from a turbo car?
Thanks,
Rob
JordanTr

Post by JordanTr »

Mid 87-89 300zx turbo has a factory 2 way lsd. Very rare but you could find. There are clip in stub axles with 4 bolt flanges than can be had from a 280zx.