Am i getting in over my head?

Problems, ideas and comments specific to engine swaps.
chongmang

Am i getting in over my head?

Post by chongmang »

Im 22, own a 72 2 door and my l18 just shat out on me. My dad is pretty mechanically inclined but works out of state. Im good with body work and fab, not as good with engines. Ive done the research on KA swap, have the write-ups and step by steps. But, i have never done anything like it before. Am i wasting my money and time thinking i can get this thing done without having done something similar before? is there anyone in the san fernando valley/ LA region that would be willing to help me out?
qwik510
Supporter

Re: Am i getting in over my head?

Post by qwik510 »

Depending on what swap parts you decide to use, the swap should be doable even with average mechanical skills. Buying a crossmember that is already made to accept the engine will make the engine a bolt in. An experimental engineering trans crossmember will add to the bolt in factor. Once the motor and trans are bolted in place, then you will have several major components of the swap to do

Fuel system.
You will need to install some type of fuel injection fuel pump that will provide the fuel pressure needed for the engine and at least one new fuel line large enough to provide the fuel. You can use the existing fuel feed line as a return line if it is in good shape. Read up on what others have used.

Cooling System
There are plenty of radiators that are now available to provide enough cooling for the swap. Most people have figured out the hoses too so this should not be difficult.

Air Intake
Plenty of kits on ebay so this is not hard.

Exhaust System
Any competent exhaust shop can fabricate a system for you.

Drive Shaft
It will need to be shortened and balanced. Most major cities have shops that can do it.

Wiring