de-tuning a race engine

Problems, ideas and comments specific to engine swaps.
ray23

de-tuning a race engine

Post by ray23 »

whats up fellas! I'm new to the realm and looking for some info on how to detune a race engine, also this engine is his ready spare engine, so it has been gone thru already. I only have small details for now and I am trying to get the build sheet. info I know is the engine has 13:1 compression, 7-9K rpm power band, cams are custom ground (a lot of duration), its has a dry sump pan and by looks of it the head is ported larger than stock. My plans are to make this engine street-able, reliable and have the power when I need it, HP goal is moderate 200-250. I've looked into buying a complete used unit (1k and under) and rebuilding it myself, but for the price of forged stroked crankshaft is (2K) already not to include con rods and pistons etc etc. for the price he's selling it, I think is a bargain and decent starting point. I've gotten quotes from shops for a drop in stroked 2.3 10K.
Ray
72 Datsun 510 2 door
86 Ford F250 extra cab 6.9 turbo Diesel 2WD
bertvorgon
Supporter

Re: de-tuning a race engine

Post by bertvorgon »

A lot of things going on here, I'm maybe not the best to explain, but,...

11:1 is still pretty high for pump fuel...a few of us have been there...

with milder cams, that effectively increases the "dynamic" compression, which is not what you want.

http://www.badasscars.com/index.cfm/pag ... /prd68.htm

I lived that too, my "big" cam let me ALMOST be able to run 94 octane fuel with a static cranking pressure of 160, with my "smaller" cam in, my cranking pressure went UP to almost 200 PSI, which meant when I just breathed on the throttle, the engine detonated...THAT you never want.