510 Headlight Options

Paint, body preparation and modification, interior work and electrical
HAM8URGER

510 Headlight Options

Post by HAM8URGER »

I'm new to Datsuns and was curious if you guys could give me some suggestions and/or opinions on what some of the good headlight upgrades are. Pics will be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
okayfine
Supporter

Re: 510 Headlight Options

Post by okayfine »

As always, it depends on what you want. Gotta be pretty dark in hell, I suspect. Just looking for something better than 35w sealed-beam OEM lights? Projectors? HID-happy reflectors? Ultimate night vision?

Most common is probably still the BMW projector upgrade. Documented in DQ Volume 2 Issue 2 - Installing BMW Projector Style Lights - Got lights? Are your halogen lights not bright enough? Outshine the sun with an upgrade to BMW projector-style headlights.

Some of the Canadia guys run high-watt/aircraft landing lights. Look like normal lights when off, but 100watt+ when lit.

E-code H4 housings would also be a nice upgrade. I'd only look at brand name H4 housings (Hella, Bosch, etc.), the cheap H4 housings may have no real focus, so no matter how low you adjust them you still get flashed. BTDT.
Because when you spend a silly amount of money on a silly, trivial thing that will help you not one jot, you are demonstrating that you have a soul and a heart and that you are the sort of person who has no time for Which? magazine. – Jeremy Clarkson
HAM8URGER

Post by HAM8URGER »

do people usually just upgrade the high beams and leave the stock lows?
bertvorgon
Supporter

Post by bertvorgon »

Decide how much you really need your high beams.

I have upgraded both the low/high beam lens and bulb, to H4 Bosch....That lets you get away with the stock wiring.

Same with the high beam lens.but, 100Watt bulb

The better lens and quartz bulb will give you way better light right off the bat, then take time to set them up properly.