Rear window seal question.

Paint, body preparation and modification, interior work and electrical
eastbaysolo_73
Supporter

Rear window seal question.

Post by eastbaysolo_73 »

Hi fellas,

Im in the process of installing my front and rear glass using Datsport window seals. My question is on the rear window seal. It looks kinda of off on the rounded corner edges of the bottom window. Not sure what to do here. Mind you this is my first attempt at installing the glass. So, I likely could have the seal on incorrectly. My car didn't come with glass so I'm not sure exactly how its supposed to look. Please chime only if you have experience in this department.

ImageLS by v p, on Flickr

ImageLS by v p, on Flickr

ImageIMG_5837 by v p, on Flickr

Thanks in advance.
Vince
1970 2 door sr20det cookie cutter build
My build thread
http://www.the510realm.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=30772
Nor Cal Meng !
RMS
Supporter

Re: Rear window seal question.

Post by RMS »

because of how it gets folded to fit in the bag the rounded corners often look distorted and can take many hours to relax. If time permits I let the seals sit unfurled for a day before installing......its not needed but if your ocd dictates that every thing needs to be even at every step.......
two_68_510s wrote:I guess our donkeys are quicker then your sled dogs!
eastbaysolo_73
Supporter

Post by eastbaysolo_73 »

RMS wrote: 31 Aug 2019 20:02 because of how it gets folded to fit in the bag the rounded corners often look distorted and can take many hours to relax. If time permits I let the seals sit unfurled for a day before installing......its not needed but if your ocd dictates that every thing needs to be even at every step.......
Thanks RMS I pulled the seal off and did just that. I will give another try when it cools down today. But yes my OCD is horrible lol. Thanks for the tip.
My build thread
Nor Cal Meng !
oaklandsyd

Post by oaklandsyd »

Hijacking a post! I'm doing the same stuff right now.