How much to get a SR20 det swapped in?

Problems, ideas and comments specific to engine swaps.
chunstone

How much to get a SR20 det swapped in?

Post by chunstone »

I have been wondering how much it would cost to have a SR20det swapped into my wagon. Seems like there are lots of parts and knowledge out there.
As I'm not a mechanic, I am looking for a price of the complete swap done by someone who would stand behind their work.
Thanks.
4 link VG30 wagon, Stage 2 cams PP heads headers.
170 hp-180 tq
Call Doug at UP Motors, Tacoma, "engine swap elite"
okayfine
Supporter

Re: How much to get a SR20 det swapped in?

Post by okayfine »

chunstone wrote:I have been wondering how much it would cost to have a SR20det swapped into my wagon. Seems like there are lots of parts and knowledge out there.
As I'm not a mechanic, I am looking for a price of the complete swap done by someone who would stand behind their work.
Few people go this route, so it's tough to nail down a price. A ballpark guess would be $6000 plus engine, probably more, but perhaps less since you already have things like the fuel and cooling systems. Would be easier to buy a swapped car from someone reliable on The Realm or local to you. If you're fixin' to have this done to your wagon, I'd start calling places like Troy's, perhaps Steve Epperly of ZTherapy, or DGR (James Johnson has been happy with his work) and get real quotes from real shops. Perhaps Specialty Engineering is closer to you? In the end, perhaps you're rid of your VG that may only need some valve seals, but what new problems have you opened up for yourself with a turbo swap?