KA24 won't start

Problems, ideas and comments specific to engine swaps.
ws510510

KA24 won't start

Post by ws510510 »

I have been driving this 73 510 with a KA24DE for two years and now all of a sudden it won't start. If I spray brake cleaner into the intake it will fire up till it runs out of the cleaner. It seems like a fuel problem but a ton of gas comes out when I turn it on and it does return to the tank. I did take off the fuel rail with injectors in and they did spray.
Fuel is flowing, ignition is firing and it's getting air. I have replaced the fuel rail pressure regulator, fuel injectors, plugs, cap/rotor, fuel filter, coil and checked coolant temp sensor, fuses, power transistor, IACV, IAO-AAC solenoid. Computer OBD1 isn't showing any codes. All seem to be working. Is there something I'm missing or could check? Starting to drive me nuts!
Thanks for any input!
bertvorgon
Supporter

Re: KA24 won't start

Post by bertvorgon »

Is there any sensor that has to see oil pressure before firing up?

I had that problem with a Ford Aerostar I had, drove me crazy for a bit till I figured that out.

Just a thought, I'm not a fuel injection guy.
"Racing makes heroin addiction look like a vague wish for something salty" - Peter Egan

Keith Law
1973 2 Door Slalom/hill climb/road race / canyon carver /Giant Killer 510
1971 Vintage 13' BOLER trailer
ws510510

Post by ws510510 »

I will take a look. Thanks for the suggestion.
icehouse

Post by icehouse »

How old is the gas in it?
"People don't like it when shit doesn't match their rule of thumb." Sam
ws510510

Post by ws510510 »

Gas is new, I've been driving it for two years.
icehouse

Post by icehouse »